Getting in the meditation zone


So I’ve recently decided to commit to meditating once a day, usually in the morning to set myself up for the day and do
whatever the voice guides me in to get me in the ‘right’ mind set…hmm?? That is questionable if I really think too much about it, so I stop thinking too much about it and just do it!

Last year a friend emailed me a guided meditation link to listen to this dude. She warned me, “Oh he will speak for awhile beforehand, but it is good once you get past his intro and get into it.” Ok, so I plug my headset into my iPad and eagerly await the mellowing of my mind or whatever it’s supposed to do and listen to this dude talk about himself, his history and…I don’t know after that, he was getting rather boring so I thought I’d check my emails and kinda got distracted with more important things to attend to and that was my meditation experience… enticing not.

“Donna, you should try meditating” said the one millionth friend, I have heard this so many times and it makes me think, am I that obviously in need of this?

So we all know I like to accept a challenge. “Donna if you do this you will notice changes” ok, so I will notice changes, questioning in my mind, the challenger obviously noticing my buzzing thoughts…is it that obvious?! “Yes, good things will start happening.” Well, in that case, let’s check this out, surely there has to be some sort of positive outcome if everyone is telling me to do it. The challenge was to meditate once a day, preferably first thing in the morning before I start the day for 30 days. Wow, 30 days in a row?! Could I commit to this?! So I went ahead and bought the guided CD and off I went.

Where do I sit and do this? Well I’ll play it at my desk in my laptop; I can use my headset and be in ‘the zone.’  So every morning I eagerly played, at first kind of easily guided by “the voice” then a week went by and I had imagined every relaxing place I could think of, the beach, the river’s edge, the rain forest, the beach, whatever else… let’s face it, how many smells, feelings, colours can I go through in 30 days? This was turning out to be hard work; this made me think of the things I had to get done that day…going through my list, when is this 20 minutes ending? What good things will happen? Now feeling guilty about thinking this way during a meditation,  I focused on goals, pictured them, surrounding them with a giant bubble (as the voice said to)and pushing it off into space…this was fun and entertaining at first…but every day? How many goals am I supposed to have? Do I put the same goal in every day and push them in a bubble off to space?

Finding a valid excuse to stop for awhile before my 30 days were up, I had someone stay with me…I couldn’t get away and have private time at my desk, there was no place to meditate! Can I transfer this CD on my iPhone and hide in my bedroom and find my peaceful zone? This was becoming all too difficult. THEN a thought came to my wondering mind, I wonder if there are meditation apps? Oh my, there were heaps! This was crazy trying to choose the ‘right’ one, spending all night in bed finding a meditation app, what a chore?!

Found it! Yes I now play it most mornings, sometimes even at night. No BIG decisions of what to put in the bubble, sometimes I even fall asleep but the voice says it’s ok to.

This is not meaning to be a write up against meditation. I actually really like taking the time to meditate now! Who’d have thought?

Now I bet you are asking if good things have happened to me since meditating, so am I! Is it just that if we look out for the good things and expect them in our life they are more apparent? I wonder…

The Power is in Me…it’s in You too!

Donna

2 thoughts on “Getting in the meditation zone

  1. Taking the time to meditate (and remembering) are my problems! I love to meditate (when I have the time and remember to actually do it). Someone said to me not so long ago “well make the time. Set a reminder” but I even have a whole list of excuses for that too! Until I decided that I needed to set aside one solid hour a day. I am not allowed to book any appointments, do any chores, work etc. in that time. So ‘me’ time became from 10am-11am each day and so far so good! The only think is ‘me’ time can equate to many things.. 1. go for a walk or 2. reading 3. totally nothing etc. I feel as though I needed to do something as I found myself losing my days constantly.. Like it’s 8am and suddenly it’s night time and I’m cooking dinner.

    Thanks for the reminder that ‘me’ time is back on at 10am tomorrow morning! 🙂

  2. Hey Donna, my favourite app for web and phone is http://www.calm.com it is so beautiful although I usually do it lying down and fall asleep! I must get into more of this too – nice to quiet the mind sometimes. My latest meditation is writing fiction I can lose four or five hours in one sitting with a new novel – I never have that experience when writing non-fiction!! Anyway I realise that writing isn’t meditation haha but baby steps!!

Leave a comment