Once upon a time…

Since writing my last blog I sadly received unfortunate news of a death in my family. Naturally it is a sad time, he will be missed by loved ones, but at the same time he lived a full long healthy life of over 91 years of age.

Listening to the eulogy at the funeral service, the amazing story told of a passionate man who survived the escape in a communist country fleeing armed soldiers and receiving refuge from nuns who protected him…this was just a tip of the adventures that lay ahead for the life of a truly heroic young man who left his family, stopping along his travels through a few countries to eventually start a new life in Australia.

It is always an interesting time when hearing a eulogy, even if you have known somebody all your life or only for a moment, there is always something new revealed in a eulogy…in a life story. We never really know the full details of one’s life until there is a time such as this when a group of people get together to join in to contribute their thoughts, their knowledge, their experiences in this life to form a eulogy.

I was even asked to stand in front of the service to give my reflections, and pass my experience of the times that I shared to give the essence of a true gentleman and pleasant character that he held. Even though I had never been in this position to share stories at a funeral service, it was a privilege and honour to be asked to contribute in his tribute.

This got me thinking of the story telling that I am currently doing with the writing of my book, my own life story. Just as it is interesting to hear others opinions, stories, secrets even of a passed person’s life which you thought you may have known, this can too be the case in my own living life. How can that be so?! It seems kind of odd right? But maybe not.

When reflecting on my own life writing the past experiences that lead me to where I am today, there is so much of a journey to be told that can be added by others like in a eulogy to combine and make a story or reflection from, I consider this almost like a school assignment.

Sharing my story in a book from the age of 7 years of age not only involves my own thoughts and memory but also others who were in that same picture, for example my parents and looking over my medical records, which looks like a novel in itself! This has involved intriguing conversations with my mother and father and hearing stories that I didn’t even know that had actually involved me, almost like hearing some other body’s eulogy.

Why do we wait to have to write someone’s eulogy to find these amazing journeys when we could share intriguing stories right now?

 

The Power Is In Me!

Donna

 

2 thoughts on “Once upon a time…

Leave a comment